Return to New@NCPR      NCPR Home

NCPR News Staff Honored with National and Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Canton, NY, Monday, June 18, 2007 – The Radio-Television News Directors Association (RTDNA) has announced the winners of the highly prestigious 2007 National Edward R. Murrow Awards, honoring excellence in electronic journalism. Brian Mann, NCPR’s Adirondack Bureau Chief, is being honored for Best Sports Coverage for Rugby Brings Elegance and Violence to the Adirondacks, his story of the 33rd annual Can-Am Rugby tournament held in Saranac Lake and Lake Placid in August of 2006.

Hearing the news of the win Brian commented, "I knew this was a great story when I interviewed a woman who was laughing and crying at the same time after taking a teeth-rattling hit. It is gratifying to be recognized nationally with an Edward R. Murrow award."

"We're so proud,” said News Director Martha Foley. “We all have come to expect the best from Brian. The rugby story is a perfect example of his enterprise and skills – of seeing a story no one else is seeing, and telling it better than anyone else could tell it. Great reporting."

In all, 52 news organizations are being honored with 79 awards out of an initial pool of 3,150 entries from 580 news organizations. National Murrow award-winners are selected from among the pool of regional award recipients. Brian was honored with a regional Edward R. Murrow Award in March 2007 for the same story. NCPR received a total of three regional Murrows at that time – the only station in our region to do so. Gregory Warner’s story Forestport Poker Run won for Best Feature Reporting, and Assistant News Director David Sommerstein’s story Latinos on the Farm was honored for Best Investigative Reporting.

This year's awards were added to three regional awards earned by the station in 2006, a national and two regional awards in 2005, and a regional award in 2004. "The RTNDA awards recognize the best work among both commercial and non-commercial news operations," said Station Manager Ellen Rocco. "Being honored 11 times over the past four years is a testimony to the talent and professionalism of the news team at North Country Public Radio. Substance, credibility and respect for our listeners are paramount in our mission. Listeners across the region can share our pride in this latest honor for a news team so many supporters have helped us build.”

RTNDA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession.

RTNDA is the world’s largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTNDA represents local and network news professionals in broadcasting, cable and other electronic media in more than 30 countries.

Return to New@NCPR      NCPR Home