Skip Navigation
NPR News
Chris Thile and Michael Daves perform at the 2011 Newport Folk Festival. (Shantel Mitchell for NPR)

Chris Thile & Michael Daves: Newport Folk 2011

Jul 31, 2011 (Folk Alley)

Hear this

This text will be replaced
Launch in player

Share this

Explore this

Reported by

Chris Thile enjoyed massive success at a very early age, selling millions with the prodigiously gifted bluegrass band Nickel Creek. But he's remained remarkably level-headed and creatively ambitious in the five years since the group's demise, exploring his more progressive leanings in Punch Brothers and teaming up with Michael Daves for a more traditional collection paying tribute to past bluegrass greats like Bill Monroe and fellow Newport artist Earl Scruggs. Sleep With One Eye Open, their album together, may look to the past, but make no mistake: This is blazingly intense music, and it'll show live when they take the stage at the 2011 Newport Folk Festival in Newport, R.I.

Set List

  • "Evening Prayer Blues"
  • "Rabbit in a Log"
  • "Cry, Cry Darling"
  • "Loneliness and Desperation"
  • "Tennessee Blues"
  • "Running Wild"
  • "Sleep with One Eye Open"
  • "My Little Girl in Tennessee"
  • "Silver Dagger"
  • "Sophronie"
  • "Man in the Middle"
  • "Ookpik Waltz"
  • "Molly and Tenbrooks"
Copyright 2014 Folk Alley. To see more, visit

Set List

  • Evening Prayer Blues
  • Rabbit in a Log
  • Cry, Cry Darling
  • Loneliness and Desperation
  • Tennessee Blues
  • Running Wild
  • Sleep with One Eye Open
  • My Little Girl in Tennessee
  • Silver Dagger
  • Sophronie
  • Man in the Middle
  • Ookpik Waltz
  • Molly and Tenbrooks

Missing some content? Check the source: NPR
Copyright(c) 2014, NPR

Visitor comments


NCPR is supported by:

This is a Visitor-Supported website.