Skip Navigation
Regional News
The St. Lawrence County courthouse and legislative building.
The St. Lawrence County courthouse and legislative building.

St. Lawrence County District 9 electing legislator for 1 year

Listen to this story
There's a special election for St. Lawrence County legislator in District 9 this year. District 9 includes downtown Canton and stretches south along Route 11 towards DeKalb. Current Representative Stephen Putman, a Democrat, had to resign in June in order to combine his state retirement money with the retirement money from his job. He was reappointed to the legislature a month later. Now there's an election for the final year of the term - and Putman is challenged by Republican Bill Fobare.

Hear this

Download audio

Share this

Explore this

Reported by

Sarah Harris
Reporter and Producer

Stephen Putman’s unusual retirement circumstances resulted in this year’s unusual election.

"So I was off for a month which meant that I have to run for re-election for the fourth year of this term," Putman explained. 

Putman is being challenged by Republican Bill Fobare.

Fobare is a farmer and school bus driver. 

North Country Public Radio was unable to reach Fobare due to a family emergency.

But he told the Watertown Daily Times 3 weeks ago that he hopes to attract more business to St. Lawrence County. 

He also wants to improve county government transparency by creating online forums for discussion and making more time for public input at legislature meetings.

Putman says he’d like to continue the work he’s done these past 3 years, including helping to balance the county budget, and up the sales tax from 7 to 8 %.

And he says he looks forward to figuring out how St. Lawrence County can lower its tipping fees at transfer stations even though the amount of solid waste has declined.

"One of our biggest challenges over the next several months is going to be the solid waste and how we position ourselves in the short term and the long term to make that a self-sustaining, viable service."

The election is on Tuesday. Polls will open at 6 a.m. 


Visitor comments


NCPR is supported by:

This is a Visitor-Supported website.